Welcome to the Quebec Metastatic
Breast Cancer Registry!

Our mission is to develop a metastatic breast cancer research infrastructure in Quebec to support projects that will lead to a better understanding of the disease and eventually to an optimization of clinical practice.

The project was launched in 2021 at an initiative of the Scientific Committee of the McPeak-Sirois Group, under the leadership of Dr. Sarkis Meterissian, surgical oncologist at the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC), as a pilot project, with three member hospitals of the Group: the MUHC, the Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal and the CHU de Québec-Université Laval. During the course of 2022, all other hospitals in Quebec that are members of the Group will be able to contribute to the Registry.

THE REGISTRY IN NUMBERS

315

Number of cases reported

Primary cancer type (%)

Age at diagnosis (%)

Approximately 6,600 new cases of breast cancer are declared each year in Quebec and approximately 20% of these cancers will evolve to metastatic disease. The project intends to recruit all persons with a diagnosis of metastatic breast cancer.

This foremost initiative, in partnership with the ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS) and the Direction nationale du Programme québécois de cancérologie, is supported by the following partners:

Bienvenue sur le site
du Registre de cancer du sein métastatique québécois !

Notre mission est de développer une infrastructure de recherche sur le cancer du sein métastatique au Québec pour soutenir des projets qui mèneront à une meilleure compréhension de la maladie et éventuellement à une optimisation de la pratique clinique.

Le projet a démarré en 2021 à l’initiative du comité scientifique du Groupe McPeak-Sirois, et sous le leadership de Dr Sarkis Meterissian, chirurgien oncologue au Centre universitaire de santé McGill (CUSM), comme projet pilote avec trois centres hospitaliers membres du Groupe : le CUSM, le Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal et le CHU de Québec-Université Laval. Au cours de l’année 2022, tous les autres centres hospitaliers du Québec membres du Groupe pourront contribuer au Registre.

LE REGISTRE EN CHIFFRES

315

Nombre de cas répertoriés

Type de cancer primaire (%)

Âge au diagnostic (%)

Le projet compte recruter toutes les personnes qui ont reçu un diagnostic de cancer du sein métastatique. Environ 6600 nouveaux cas de cancer du sein sont déclarés à chaque année au Québec et approximativement 20% de ces cancers auront des métastases dans leur évolution.

Le Registre est une initiative du Groupe McPeak-Sirois de recherche clinique en cancer du sein en partenariat avec le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS) et la Direction nationale du Programme québécois de cancérologie du Québec et il est appuyé par les partenaires suivants :